Ricardo Jorge Gonçalves Ornelas Camacho
(23 May 1954 - 4 July 2018)

Dr Ricardo J Camacho graduated in Medicine in Lisbon Medical School, Universidade de Lisboa. In 1994 he becomes the head of the Virology Laboratory in Hospital Egas Moniz (currently Centro Hospitalar de Lisboa Ocidental), in Lisbon, now one of the Portuguese AIDS reference laboratories. He retired from his hospital duties in 2013.

With a research affiliation to the Institute of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, his main fields of interest were HIV-1 resistance in non-B subtypes and HIV-2 resistance. His research papers in this field ranked among the top papers.

Ricardo Camacho was heavily involved in the continuous education of virologists and clinicians to train them in the treatment of HIV-1 and HIV-2 patients and in HIV drug resistance interpretation, through lectures in hospitals and meetings. 

Ricardo served on the Scientific Committee of this meeting since the very first edition. We will miss his enthusiastic contributions and his great personality. Our hearts go out to his wife Anne-Mieke Vandamme and her familty and friends.


Program Committee
Organizing Committee

The members of the Organizing Committee (OC) are a group of carefully selected experts and inspirational leaders in their respective fields. They come together on a frequent basis to discuss the scientific program of the workshop, identify interesting topics and candidate speakers and review all submitted abstracts.

Scientific Committee

The members of Scientific Committee are hand-picked by the OC and the conference secretariat based on their significant contributions and commitment to the field. They assist the Organizing Committee by providing them with suggestions for speakers and topics. In addition, members of the Scientific Committee participate in reviewing submitted abstracts, and play an active role during the workshop as moderators and/or chairs of sessions.

Carlos Beltran, MD, Chilean AIDS Group, Chile

Marina Bobkova, PhD Ivanovsky Institute of Virology, Russia

Slim Fourati, MD Hôpital Henri Mondor, France

Rolf Kaiser, PhD University of Cologne, Germany

Leon Kostrikis, PhD University of Cyprus, Cyprus

Clive Loveday, PhD ICVC Charitable Trust, Clinical Virology, UK

Monique Nijhuis, PhD University Medical Centre Utrecht, the Netherlands

Dimitris Paraskevis, PhD University of Athens, Medical School, Greece

Mario Poljak, MD, PhD Institute for Microbiology and Immunology, Slovenia

Gary Rubin, MD University of Toronto, Canada

Anders Sönnerborg, MD, PhD Karolinska Institut, Sweden

Janusz Stanczak, PhD University of Warsaw, Poland

Hauke Walter, MD Medizinisches Labor Stendhal, Germany

Maurizio Zazzi , PhD University of Siena, Italy