Jorge Santana, MD

Jorge Santana, Puerto Rico

Jorge L. Santana-Bagur, MD., is an Associate Professor of Medicine at the University Of Puerto Rico School Of Medicine in San Juan. He is the Director and Principal Investigator for the AIDS Clinical Trials Group (ACTG), conducting HIV/HCV clinical research at the University of Puerto Rico Medical Science Campus. Dr. Santana-Bagur is diplomate in internal medicine and certified in HIV medicine. His research interests include epidemiology and infectious diseases, among which he has dedicated a large part of his career to investigating HIV/AIDS. Moreover, current research interests include HIV/Hepatitis C Co-infection, Translational Research and HIV Aging Processes and Bone Development.

Dr. Santana-Bagur is a fellow of the Infectious Diseases Society of America (FIDSA) and Past President of the Infectious Diseases Society of Puerto Rico He is a member of the Puerto Rico College of Physicians and Surgeons. He is an active faculty of the Medical Science Campus AIDS Education and Training Center (AETC) Advisory Committee and was an Advisory Board Provider for the CDC’s Morbidity Monitoring Project in HIV/AIDS. He has published articles in journals such as as the New England Journal of Medicine, The Journal of Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndromes, the Journal of Infectious Diseases, Clinical Infectious Diseases, Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy, the Annals of Internal Medicine, Ethnicity & Disease, the Puerto Rico Health Sciences Journal, the AIDS Journal, and the Journal of Association of Nurses in AIDS Care.

After receiving an undergraduate degree in biology from the University of Puerto Rico,
Dr. Santana-Bagur earned a medical degree from the Universidad Del Caribe School of Medicine in Bayamon, Puerto Rico in 1982. He completed his senior residency at the Waterbury Hospital Health Center, affiliated with Yale-New Haven Hospital, in 1985. He completed a fellowship in the infectious diseases program at the University of Puerto Rico / VA training program in 1988. He is a past recipient of the Puerto Rico Medical Association’s Purdue Frederick Award (First Prize), Lifetime Achievement Award from the Puerto Rico HIV Treaters Medical Association and received an Ad Honorem Distinction from the Infectious Diseases Society of the Dominican Republic.

Share and Enjoy